http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=8YvjVG6Dik4

For my final project, I decided to make a Kinetic Typography music video to the song Atheist Peace by Bad Religion.  I wanted to do this because the format of Kinetic Typography music videos allowed me to be creative in my design and application.  It allowed me to pick a song I enjoyed, and create a music video in the way that I wanted.  I had a lot of fun creating this, and it allowed me to be artistic in its direction.  I based the timing, movement and size of the words based on their emphasis in the song, as well as the musical direction throughout.

I used Adobe After Effects to create this, and after watching a few tutorials on how to make the words 3D objects, how to move them around the screen, as well as the camera, the rest of the project came relatively easy.  One thing I learned about Kinetic Typography music videos is that even for a minute and a half/two minute song, there is a lot of work involved.  I went into the project with ideas of how I wanted certain sentences and words to come out, but the rest of it was actually done on the fly with little planning.  As I listened to each part of the song, I decided how I wanted to represent that through the movement and size of the words, while also pertaining to some aspects that are found in nearly every kinetic typography music video, such as having sideways/upside down words as well as a camera that flies from word to word.  Image quality wise I feel it could be a bit better, but I was limited by my computer’s processing power and RAM.  If I could change one thing about this project it would be to either make the FPS higher, or to smooth our some motion blur in order to make the words more legible, because as it is, the song itself is so fast that if you don’t know the words, some can fly right by without having the opportunity to read them.  I tried to limit this the best I could while still maintaining a fast, wild style to my video.

I feel as though the project is complete, and other than a few things I feel I could change about it, I like it the way it is and I hope viewers will enjoy it as well.