For my final project, I chose to do a kinetic typography of a scene from the Social Network movie where the creator of Napster, Sean Parker, awakes from his one night stand with a Stanford University student. However, to record their interaction I chose the medium of Facebook to dramatize the “awkward next morning/what happened last night” moment. In my typography you can see instances of posting a status, receiving a message, responding to a message, searching for a “friend”, browsing their profile information, Liking/tagging/removal of tagging a picture, and receiving/responding to a friend request.

The purpose of my project was to demonstrate how communication and interactions between people are simulated on Facebook and how a social media site takes the relationships and personal bonds between people and broadcasts them for others to experience as they happen in real time. What does it say about our society that people, your own friends, can ‘like’ the end of a relationship or for that matter cannot begin one unless it is “Facebook Official”. What about the people who create a fake account and establish misled relationships like that on MTV’s Catfish? Think even about the simple fact that we desire or feel some sort of self-gratification when our friends comment or like our content. Every move on Facebook is taken personally even the act of doing nothing (not responding to an instant message, not tagging you in a photo, not accepting a friend request). Does Facebook take away from the meaning of friendship or do we just like to people watch from the comfort of our homes..portable laptops..and cell phones? Social media is meant for socializing not criticizing and critiquing each other. Or maybe Mark Zuckerburg knows something we don’t. The point being is, I feel my project showcases how similar offline interactions between people are to those they have online and to question why are they the nature and social norms of the interactions are treated differently when they rather are difficult to tell apart.

During the creation of my kinetic typography, I had no idea what I was doing at first but the manipulation of the text with images is something I quickly picked up and increased my rate of work completed. I learned a lot about how to edit images in Adobe Photoshop as well as to create movement using the effects in After Effects. I also learned that uploading a video from After Effects to YouTube is much harder than I had ever anticipated. The audio files and Photoshop images may work in After Effects but that does not mean they will be compatible in a movie file.

Going forward, I would like to say I will do more kinetic typography activities. I would like to use them in my future endeavors at my job at Accenture working with social media to improve business practices and systems. Social media has definitely changed the course of my career path and it shows greatly how integrative social media can be in multiple aspects of daily tasks/projects.

