For my final project, I created a kinetic typography video using the song “Save the World” by Swedish House Mafia. According to Wikipedia, kinetic typography, the technical name for moving text, is an animation technique mixing motion and text to express ideas using video animation. This text is presented over time in a manner intended to convey or evoke a particular idea or emotion. This definition played an extremely large role in the creation of my project. It was important for me to keep in mind that everyone that watches my video will have some sort of reaction and my goal throughout the project was to create text and animations that evoke positive emotions for all viewers.

The skill I learned in my project was how to use Adobe After Effects. I started out knowing absolutely nothing about the program and feel very proud about the skill level that I reached. It was very important for me to view videos on YouTube in order to learn different animation skills as well as formulate my own creative ideas for animations.

Throughout my project, I was motivated by the idea of being able to show my project to my family and friends. I wanted to make something that I am proud of and that I know others will enjoy. I am fairly confident that the project I created fulfilled both of these tasks.

Finally, as far as the next steps are concerned, I have taken a very keen interest in kinetic typography. While my current project is completed, I can definitely see myself using After Effects to create various other videos in the future.

